The Obligatory Background

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

R: 131 G: 255 B: 168 X:54188 Y: 0 S: 0 Z: 53 F: 168

Welcome 2017! I hope the New Year finds you happy, healthy and hopeful.

Shortly after Christmas, my spouse made an interesting inquiry followed by an interesting suggestion. He wanted to know when the Christmas season officially ended (I explained about Epiphany) and when the Easter season began.  I knew that Easter would be April 16 this year, but I pointed out that Ash Wednesday and the beginning of Lent fell in February or March. (It’s March 1 in case you don’t care for suspense.)

With that information, he made it known that he would like to give up meat for Lent.  If you are unfamiliar with observing Lent, it is the 40-day period prior to Holy Week and Easter.  It is a time of quiet and contemplative living that coincides with the coming of spring.  The word Lent comes from an Old English word, lencten, which means spring. Lent is also a season of doing without.  In olden times fasts were observed, but these days some might just prefer to give up a luxury.  And that’s where we are headed.

Giving up meat for Lent is something I have considered, but usually just prior to Ash Wednesday, and with no preparation time I thought it unfeasible, but this year, with plenty of prep time, it’s a go.  Join me as I map out how I plan on doing this.  It will be fun! And of course I will share my recipes as we go.  And if you have any recipes to share, please send them to me!

Hope to see you here!

 If you are interested in learning more about Lent,  google Lent 101 for a variety of options that explain the season and customs.  Read more than one webpage for well-balanced research.

2 thoughts on “The Obligatory Background

  1. Since I have lived meat free for many years….the only animal product I eat are eggs…..I will follow your progress with interest and maybe a few tips!

    Like

    • Thanks! Glad to have you here. I’d appreciate any tips you have as we go along. Think about a guest blog spot one day in March? There’s plenty of time.

      Thanks for using the comment feature. I wondered how it worked. Now, if I can only figure out how to make them show up publicly…….

      Peace, love, beans and yoga!

      Like

Leave a Reply

