The Skinny on the Soup

000_1394

Well, when I was going through my recipe file looking for forgotten concoctions that I might prepare, I found a recipe for the Basic Fat-burning Soup, the major component of the Sacred Heart Memorial Hospital Diet.  The intro to the recipe and diet explain how the diet is used to lose weight rapidly for hospital patients preparing for heart surgery.  The diet is crazy.  Like all fruit one day and then beef and veggies one day, bananas and skim milk one day – but duh, we all know that we should eat balanced meals every day including breakfast (I will blog on breakfast another day.)

Anyhow, it turns out that the diet is a hoax and goes by several other names besides Sacred Heart.  Thing is though, I love the soup!  AND to make things even more interesting, Mr. Catfish loves the soup!  The caveat is that you must have it with something of substance.  His accompaniment was a big bagel and cheese. My accompaniment was Kidney Bean Salad, which is a delightful recipe gleaned from my youth when I was a salad girl at Horn & Horn Cafeteria in Maryland.

Anyhow, here is the soup recipe as received:

½ medium head of cabbage

2 packages onion soup mix

1 teaspoon chili powder

10 springs parsley

1 medium bunch celery (6 to 8 stalks)

2 cans stewed tomatoes

1 small can tomato sauce

1 small can green chilies

½ teaspoon oregano

2 green peppers

Cut veggies into small to medium pieces.  Place in eight-quart pot and cover with water.  Add remaining ingredients and let boil for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to simmer and cook until vegetables are tender (about 1 ½ hours.)

Now, here are my changes:

Used dry parsley, used regular diced tomatoes, left out tomato sauce because I didn’t have any, same with the green chilies.  It was still delicious, and I don’t think it took anywhere close to an hour and a half to simmer. Maybe more like 45 minutes.  I cut the cabbage in long thin strands.

We had this two nights this week and still have enough for another meal.  Delicious, healthy (except for that soup powder) and light!

Next time: Kidney Bean Salad – YUM!

One thought on “The Skinny on the Soup

Leave a Reply

