Vegetarian Chili del Pacifico

dscn0443

This is my favorite chili recipe.  It was going to be my lead meatless recipe on Ash Wednesday, but I needed to write it up for a contest. A chili contest.  AND in order to sway readers, I changed the name of the recipe from the bland Vegetarian Chili to the intriguing Vegetarian Chili del Pacifico.  The recipe calls for a 12 ounce beer, and I used Pacifico the first time I made this, and due to my superstitious nature and how well it turned out, I’m sticking with it.

Shout out to Cocula Mexican Restaurant in East AVL for letting me borrow a Pacifico for the photo.  Recipe courtesy Barbara Holtermann, Feeding the Flock cookbook, Our Shepherd Lutheran Church, Severna Park, Maryland, 2001.

Vegetarian Chili del Pacifico

2 tablespoons oil
1 ½ cup chopped celery
1 ½ cup chopped green pepper
1 cup chopped onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 28 ounce cans diced tomatoes, undrained
3 16 ounce cans kidney beans rinsed and drained or 1 bag prepared dry kidney beans
½ cup raisins
¼ cup red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 tablespoon snipped parsley
2 teaspoons salt
1 ½ teaspoon basil
1 ½ teaspoon oregano
1 ½ teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon allspice
¼ teaspoon pepper
¼ teaspoon hot pepper sauce
1 bay leaf

Heat oil in Dutch oven.  Cook celery, green pepper, onion, and garlic until tender. Add other ingredients and bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 1 ½ hours.

Stir in one 12 ounce can beer and  ¾ cup cashews

Return to boil and simmer, uncovered, for 30 minutes.  Remove bay leaf before serving.

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Chili del Pacifico

  1. The addition of cashews was a surprise. Intriguing. I have a few chili variations of my own that I’ve made over the years. Lately, my new chili spice of choice, in addition to the tried and true, is ginger. It’s my go to spice for a lot of my vegan dishes!

    Best of luck in the contest! Here’s hoping your chili takes the prize!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well thanks! I purchased some fresh ginger at a farmer’s market last spring. The grower explained that I should freeze the chunk-o-ginger and take it out and grate as needed. WOW! Now I always have ginger on hand when cooking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

