Cindy’s Baked Spaghetti

img_0574

Well, about 5 minutes ago I was going to start preparing dinner.  We are having tempeh burgers, oven roasted root vegetables and salad.  But then I remembered I have not blogged in a while.  So although I have some creative and more in-depth recipes waiting in the wings, tonight I am sharing one that is quick and easy.  This is a recipe I have always wanted to try, and last week I did!

Cindy’s Baked Spaghetti (as received from Cindy) 

1 lb. spaghetti

1 lg. can peeled whole tomatoes, undrained

1-1 ½  lbs. sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

Milk

Salt (optional)

Prepare spaghetti, rinse with cold water. Mix with tomatoes (break up tomatoes) and cheese. Add salt (if desired). Pour into a 13 x 9 pan. Add milk just until you see it come through spaghetti.

Bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes covered, uncover and bake for 15 more minutes or until you see it bubbling.

I used half of a 12 ounce box of whole wheat fettuccine, a 14.5 oz can of tomatoes and enough grated cheese to seem okay without being overly cheesey.  Gotta keep light on our feet.  I also added some oregano.  Mr. C. added more salt and some pepper at the table.  This is quick and satisfying, although not a particular standout, but I am certainly going to make it again to use up the rest of the fettuccine, and maybe again sometime.  We had a few leftovers.  I really try not to cook too much pasta!

 

 

Leave a Reply

