Goat Cheese Crustless Quiche

goat cheese crop

While I have been bloggin’ and doin’ the meat-free thang, it has been rewarding to scour through cookbooks and to try new things.  This recipe comes from the Dare Master Gardners Cook! cookbook, compiled by the Dare Master Gardner Volunteer Association, 2005.

I realize I recently featured a quiche recipe, but I have some good egg connections. Anyhow, I would’ve called this Crustless Goat Cheese Quiche, but I write ’em as I get ’em. This particular recipe is attributed to Karen Schindel, whom I have never met, but I am pretty sure I worked with her husband who was, and I bet still is, a fine and fun guy.

I wish I had more time to string together pleasing words and witty recollections, but Mr. C’s sister is turning 50 on Monday, and I have to get her card signed, addressed and stamped.

Goat Cheese Crustless Quiche

4 oz goat cheese, broken into small pieces

2 medium leeks, washed & cut into 1/2 inch pieces to total 2 cups (I used regular onions)

3 tablespoons unsalted butter

4 large eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

1/2 teaspoon sea salt, finely ground (I used regular salt)

1/2 teaspoon ground pepper, white or black

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Saute white parts of leeks (sliced) in butter over medium heat until soft.  About 5-7 minutes. Mix with whisk, all remaining ingredients except goat cheese.  Place oven rack in center position, preheat to 375 degrees.  Spread goat cheese and leeks over bottom of glass pie plate. Pour in custard mixture to 1/2 inch of rim. Bake 30-35 minutes, until soft set and knife blade inserted an inch or two from the edge comes out clean.  Serve warm or at room temperature with green salad topped with mandarin oranges.

Leave a Reply

