Feliz Cumpleanos! The origin of the Enchilada Pie

My dear espouso celebrated a birthday last month and I asked him how he would like to  mark the occasion.  “We could go out,” I offered.  “Or we could get take out,” I suggested. And then I even offered to cook something special. IMG_3091

After a bit of contemplation, he declared, “Mexican.”  Well, I was very excited!  There are many Mexican restaurants nearby and they are on the less-expensive side. “Aye-aye-aye!” I responded.  “Where would you like to go?”

Well, Mr. Catfish didn’t want to go out at all. “Why you cook delicious Mexican food,” he admonished.

Well, there I was in a pickle of my own brining. So, I found a recipe in an old cookbook, Favorite Recipes of Episcopal Church Women: Casseroles, that I had been wanting to try – Enchilada Pie.  It is delicious!  I am giving the recipe as written, but after making this two times, I gave up on frying the tortillas.  To messy and it makes the dish too heavy.

The second time I made this dish I added spinach.  By the third time I used salsa verde instead of enchilada sauce, and switched to Mexican crumbling cheese.  It is a very versatile dish, and not hard to assemble.  Make it yours!!

12 tortillas

1/2 cup cooking oil

1 No. 2 1/2 can enchilada sauce (?? I used two 14 oz. cans)

1/2 pound shredded cheese

1/2 cup chopped onions

1/2 cup chopped green onions with tops

Drop tortillas into hot oil; turn quickly.  Remove at once.  Place 4 tortillas overlapping in bottom of a 9-inch square pan. Cover with 1 cup of the sauce; sprinkle with 1/4 of the cheese and 1/3 of the onions.  Repeat layers, using amounts listed.  Pour remaining sauce over top; sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  Cut into squares.

#meatfree #lentenmeals #ayeayeaye #quickdinners #tortillamadness

 

 

 

One thought on “Feliz Cumpleanos! The origin of the Enchilada Pie

  1. Pingback: Black Bean Lasagna | Six Weeks Meat-free

Leave a comment