From Zucchini Week 2021: Stromboli

At our house, we embrace the seasonal foods as they come. A special challenge is Zucchini Week! That’s the time of year when you have so much zucchini that you have to eat it everyday! Everyday!!! I love Zucchini Week, which arrives a little bit before Tomato Week!

This year, I was fortunate when the Go-Grocery Outlet had Pillsbury Pizza Crusts in stock. That’s not normally something I would buy, but it was zucchini week and I had an idea.

I do believe that there is a recipe on this blog for one of my favorites, zucchini pie. I prepared the squash the same way. Try to determine how much squash you will need. Wash and slice into rounds about a quarter inch slices. If they are large, cut in half-moons. Dice some onion. One medium or half a large. If you have spring onions, use those. Once a couple of cloves of garlic if you’d like. Or, you can do like I do, and buy dried garlic in the grinder mill. SO much easier.

Saute the zucchini, onions and garlic in a couple of tablespoons of butter until tender. Add some oregano and maybe some salt and pepper while cooking. Drain in a colander. Put mixture into a large bowl. Mix with two beaten eggs, and 1/2 to 1 cup grated cheese.

Read instructions on pizza crust. Pre-bake as directed on baking sheet. Remove from oven. Spread two tablespoons dijon mustard over crust. Place the zucchini and cheese mixture in the center of the crust and fold the sides over. Finish baking according to instructions.

One thought on “From Zucchini Week 2021: Stromboli

  1. That looks and sounds delicious. You could even add a little cheese to it and mushrooms. I love the Pillsbury crusts for making any kind of stromboli.

    Like

Leave a comment