Owning the Veggie Burger

I have learned a lot on this meat-free journey, and one of the best things that has happened is that I am now fully confident about making my own veggie burgers.  Chickpea burgers to be exact.  I owe the wonderful recipe to Chouny and the Food.com website.  When I started blogging, the site was known as Genius Kitchen, which, in my opinion, sounds more engaging.

I make the patties according to the recipe, but substitute ½ cup cooked chickpeas for the canned chickpeas. This makes two good-sized burgers.

Frying them is easy.  They don’t fall apart and don’t stick to the pan.  I probably cook them longer on each side than the recipe calls for. Just watch your oil.  Start medium-high, add burgers cook until set, then flip and decrease heat a touch.  We serve on skinny buns with lettuce or greens and mayo.

It’s the little things that can be so self-affirming.

Leave a comment